COMM11007 Media Writing Blog Activities Week One, Two & Three Technical: Observation, Grammar Rules & Grammar Ten common mistakes

Week One

Technical: Complete Quiz One – Grammar Rules

  • Reflect on this briefly on your blog – Did you find the questions difficult? Did you have any problems in specific areas?

Reflection:

This week the quiz was about grammar. Week one I finished the quiz and on the first attempt I achieved 100% I found no problems or difficulties with completing this quiz. I was happy with my results.

Week Two

Technical: Complete Quiz 2 – Grammar Rules

  • Reflect on this briefly on your blog – Did you find the questions difficult? Did you have any problems in specific areas?

Reflection:

This week the quiz was about grammar. We were asked to review chapter two of Hicks (2013) to answer the quiz. The first time I learned the basics of grammar in primary school I could not understand it no matter how many times the teacher explained it to me.

Since then I have always tried to learn as much as I could about grammar and I have improved a lot over the years. Although, when reflecting on the technical exercise for the week two blog I found that I encountered some minor difficulties with questions one and eight.

The reason for this is these were the only questions which I could not remember or figure out what the right answer was. Because of this I had to redo the quiz a number of times till I reached 100%.

Week Three

Technical: Complete Quiz 3 – Grammar Rules

  • Reflect on this briefly on your blog – Did you find the questions difficult? Did you have any problems in specific areas?

Reflection:

This week was interesting. At one point while reading Hicks (2013) I had to reread one particular section a second time. When completing the quiz in week three I found that I got question one and eight wrong.

The reason why I got that result was when answering question one and eight I doubted my first answer and so I chose a different option. I then had to redo the test a second time to receive 100%.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Leave a Reply

