COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 5 Practical: Interview two people and write their speech as a news report.

My parents admitted their greatest passions today. With nearly 50 years of both good and bad life experiences both parents today took a moment to really think about what is their greatest passions.

My mother’s long time passion for most of her life still remains just as strong as when she first began it.

“My greatest passions are swimming, as well as building or fixing up houses and selling them,” Mum said.

With recent falls in the real estate market, selling property has become a real trauma for the family of four living near the town of Bundaberg.

“I am fixing up my third house at this moment,” Mum said.

Figure 1: 3rd House Source: Zoe Mears
Figure 1: 3rd House
Source: Zoe Mears

Mum said although her passion has been building/fixing up houses and selling them, she has decided that she won’t be continuing this cycle as she is getting too old to continue the hard psychical labour required.

However, her passion of swimming will continue for many more years to come.

“I plan to continue swimming until I can no longer due to any medical or age related problems which stop me,” Mum said.

Figure 2: Ducati ST3 Source: Central Italy Motorcycle Tours (n.d)
Figure 2: Ducati ST3
Source: Central Italy Motorcycle Tours (n.d)

After 33 years of riding motorcycles dad’s passion has not gone anywhere even after an accident when he first began riding motorcycles.

“My greatest passion is my motorcycle, I have loved riding my motorcycles for all of my life,” Dad said.

Dad owns a 2005 Ducati ST3 bought recently after wanting to upgrade from his Ducati ST2 that he had owned for 7 years.

He plans to continue with his passion for many years to come.

“I love riding motorcycles and I will not be the driver for any other mode of transport,” Dad said.

I could not complete part c to the practical task for week 5. This is due to the wishes of those interviewed that they not have their picture uploaded onto the internet.

Figure reference

Central Italy Motorcycle Tours n.d, Ducati ST3, digital image, viewed 24 September 2015, http://www.cimt.it/st3_rental.htm

5 thoughts on “COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 5 Practical: Interview two people and write their speech as a news report.

  1. Hi Zoe,

    There are just a couple of things I picked up on.

    Can you replace the “/” with “or”? I haven’t seen the forward slash in news articles before. Not sure what the style guide says.

    I think this paragraph: “With recent falls in the real estate market selling property has become a real trauma for the family of four living near the town of Bundaberg.” could do with a comma after “market” to make it flow better.

    Lastly, can your Dad be introduced with a paraphrase paragraph before getting in to direct speech? Perhaps you could just move the direct speech part two paragraphs down, as you’ve introduced him great via paraphrasing below the direct speech.

    Other than that, I think it’s pretty good.

    Heidi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Zoe,
    Good job with the activity. The choice of quotes and detail on the interviews are nice. Having the questions be the same helps with keeping the article consistent and more understandable. You should probably work on making the transition between the two interviews smoother.
    Regards, Zac

    Like

Leave a Reply

