COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 6 Technical: Complete Quiz 6A And Quiz 6B – Punctuation

“The point of punctuation is to make writing easier to read,” (Hicks 2013).

I was required to read chapter six of Hicks (2013) that is about punctuation. There were some useful information even on the first page which I would not have guessed.

I did not realise until reading Hicks (2013) that headlines, standfirsts and captions rarely have the final full stops. For quiz six (a) I got 100% on the first go as I obviously read the questions correctly and there was nothing I did not already understand.

English has always been my hardest subject to learn, which is weird considering it is the first and only language I speak. But, it seems that I am getting a lot better with it than I used to be. Now I barely use commas whereas before I never used anything else.

For quiz six (b) I got 70% on my first attempt. I think the main issue here was that I did not read some of the questions correctly, one of the questions asked me which example was incorrect; whereas I thought it said the word correct.

Which caused me to select the wrong answer. I have to remember to read the questions carefully and precisely.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Leave a Reply

