COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 7 Practical: reflecting on your assessment 1

Did you pick up all issues on your first proofread? Were there many and do you think you corrected them all?

It was predictable that I did not pick up all errors on my first proofread. I still missed a number of other errors both on my first and second proofread.

In fact on my fourth proofread I still came up with a couple of issues. I am unsure whether I have corrected all the issues in my assignment, as there may be more that I just cannot see.

I have relied on both Whitaker, Ramsey & Smith (2012) and Hicks (2013) to try to help me in properly writing and structuring the news story. The sources were also used to help me in properly writing and structuring the news release.

Was it helpful having a checklist and do you think it will make a difference to your overall result?

It was helpful to have a checklist; however, it would have been more helpful if the checklist could have included some more specific requirements rather than the generalised information which was included.

I do believe that the checklist would have made a difference to my overall marks as it reminded me to review other certain aspects that I would have otherwise forgotten.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Whitaker, R, Ramsey, J & Smith, R 2012, Media writing: print broadcast and public relations, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Leave a Reply

