COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 7 Technical: Complete Quizzes 7A (Spelling) and 7B (Style)

The ultimate rule is to write so that the reader can understand your intended meaning (Whitaker, Ramsey & Smith 2012, p.80).

For this technical exercise we were to review chapters five and eight of Hicks (2013). In these chapters Hicks (2013) talks about spelling and style, where it informs us about the impact that style has on writing.

I achieved 80% on my first attempt for quiz seven (a). One of my mistakes was a common error I have obviously made over the years when using the word ‘principle’ and the word ‘principal’ as my general understanding of the word principal was that it was the head of school which was called principal (Hicks 2013).

I frequently mix up the words ‘principle’ and ‘principal’ this is because my general understanding of the word principal was that it was the head of school whereas Hicks (2013, p.171) states that principal means: main or head. The word principle means basis (Hicks 2013, p.171).

I achieved 90% on my first attempt for quiz seven (a) because I got the question about if a writing piece is really good a reader will see technique wrong due to second guessing myself.

Reflecting over all of my quiz results I find that at least 70% of the time I have made mistakes due to me not paying enough attention to either the textbook or the questions. This seems to be a bad habit of mine.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Whitaker, R, Ramsey, J & Smith, R 2012, Media writing: print broadcast and public relations, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

2 thoughts on “COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 7 Technical: Complete Quizzes 7A (Spelling) and 7B (Style)

  1. Hi Zoe
    Me again – returning the many favours you did for me this term!
    Just a few minor things.
    1. In your top quote, should the in-text referencing be on the same line as the quote?
    2. I think it should be ‘impact style has on writing’ rather than ‘to writing’
    3. First sentence, second paragraph – passive voice has crept in there. How about ‘I achieved 80% on my first attempt at quiz seven(a)’?
    4. I think it’s the same thing in the next sentence. It is very long and doesn’t flow too well. How about ‘I frequently mix up the words ‘principle’ and ‘principal’. This is because….. Also be careful where you place the reference in that sentence. I’m not sure what exactly Hicks says, but it looks as though Hicks made the mistake over the years.

    A way to get around this is to talk about yourself and then something like ‘which Hicks (2013) says is……. Does that make sense?

    5. Same thing with long sentence and passive voice for the next paragraph.
    6. Last paragraph: passive voice again. Instead of ‘there have been mistakes’ try ‘I have made mistakes’.

    I enjoy your blog very much and I think you do a really good job. Especially your referencing – we both know how good at that you are! 🙂

    Cheers
    Bec

    Like

Leave a Reply

