COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 9 Technical: Active and Passive Writing

Figure 1: Passive and active voice Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 1: Passive and active voice
Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 2: Passive and active voice Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 2: Passive and active voice
Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 3: Passive and active voice Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 3: Passive and active voice
Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 4: Passive and active voice Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d
Figure 4: Passive and active voice
Source: BusinessWriting.com n.d

According to Whitaker, Ramsey & Smith (2012, p. 91) states that active voice is when the subject is doing the actions ‘Abdul read the book’ and passive is when the action is being done to the subject ‘the book was read by Abdul’.

I really did very badly at this, my years of turning active to passive make it so much harder for me to turn it the other way round. Logically it should make turning passive into active easy but I found this very difficult.

As far as I can tell I had issues in all of the questions. so I suppose the good news is there is no lower than my current level only higher which means that I cannot fail to improve.

I really need to work on this. I am sure this would really improve upon both my ability to write in journalism and even possibly my grades.

References

BusinessWriting.com n.d, Passive and active voice, viewed 19 September 2015, http://www.businesswriting.com/tests/activepassive.htm

Whitaker, R, Ramsey, J & Smith, R 2012, Media writing: print broadcast and public relations, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

2 thoughts on “COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 9 Technical: Active and Passive Writing

  1. Hi Zoe
    After reading your post, I was really surprised to look at your attempts at active writing. Your answers are really good. You are very close to the correct answers most of the way through.

    I am curious; what writing were you doing that required you to turn active voice into passive voice? It sounds like an interesting job.

    A few suggestions:

    Have a look at the second sentence in your first paragraph. I think it would flow much better with some restructuring.

    There is some repetition in your second paragraph and it is quite long. Have a think about splitting up that sentence. I also reiterate that you are not at the lowest level. Don’t be too hard on yourself. This is a technically challenging course; the important thing is that you are aware of your propensity to use passive voice.

    With the final paragraph, have a look at how this is structured. Again I think it could be split. Maybe after the words ‘I really need to work on this’. Maybe you could try something like ‘I’m sure it would improve my writing ability and my grades’.

    You could add some critical thinking into the post by referencing the Media Writing textbook. Active voice is addressed on pages 91 and 92.

    I really enjoyed the way you included the entire test. It was really interesting to see so clearly displayed. Well done.

    Cheers
    Bec

    Like

  2. Hi Rebecca

    Thank you so much! I really appreciate the detailed help that you provide šŸ™‚ I will definitely incorporate it šŸ˜€ well when I was at high school I did not learn how to write passively, when I started at uni studying a diploma of creative arts foundations I was enrolled in “academic professional english” which required me to use passive language, that gave a few examples but it was not till I studied essay writing at STEPS that I found out how to turn active to passive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

