COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 10 Practical: Review your blog

(WILL REVIEW)

Is the layout clean and easy to read? Have you used headings in a way that attracts attention to key points? Is white space used appropriately? Reflect on this on your blog.

I have used headings in the blogs which have questions on them in a way that makes it easy to follow the questions and answers to the questions. I have one line space between paragraphs and between headings.

I have used headings, tags, and categories to try and make each post for each week easily accessible. I have tried to incorporate pictures and other forms of media to add to the impact of my blog pieces.

Have you completed all the tasks? Check that you have completed all blog requirements and ensure that you have responded to all weekly requirements. Check this against the ‘Blog Task Requirements’ on page two of this activity sheet.

I know that I have now completed all tasks at least to the bare minimum standard. I have gone through all of my blog pieces ticking off every week I am happy to say because this has been a long journey.

Reflect on the blogging tasks. Write a few sentences on your views of this assessment. What were your major challenges and how did you overcome these? Was it too hard/too easy/about right? Has it helped improve your writing?

I liked doing this assessment piece as I did keep up with doing them, except on the occasions which I had to do assignment work and then I generally fell behind by a week.

Most times when completing these activities I found that I would spend hours trying to complete them but I would end up with a completed blog piece that I was happy to submit to edit later on.

I do believe it helped me to improve my writing as not only were comments provided to me by other students especially by Rebecca Somerville and Heidi Petith extremely helpful but also insightful (Thanks Guys).

I have continued to reflect on my own work. Whilst also being encouraged to do better by reading other blogs and seeing how well that they do theirs.

I also found out different viewpoints that I otherwise would never have found out without the collaboration that is a requirement for this assessment piece.

I feel that this is a great assessment piece which has been keeping me on my toes. I have formed what I believe to be a student friendship with a number of the fellow students and I am grateful for it.

Thanks Kate for such a great course!

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, 4th edn, Routledge, New York.

Leave a Reply

