COMM1107 Media Writing Blog Activities Week 3 Practical: Register a Storify account

 a. Register a Storify account using the same/similar professional identity you used to establish your Twitter account.

Figure 1: My storify account Source: Me
Figure 1: My storify account
Source: Me

I have used the same identity that I used with my twitter account. There is no difference between them.

b. Spend time reviewing other Storify accounts.

There are a number of other really good Storify accounts that I have come across since registering an account. I am currently following 12 Storify accounts. I have to say, it is a bit intimidating they are all so good!

The posts from all of them are: entertaining, insightful and nicely structured. There is so much to learn from all of them, I only wish I had more time!

c. Identify an issue to follow and compile your first story. It doesn’t need to be huge – just a few tweets.

Figure 2: Storify published Source: Me
Figure 2: Storify published
Source: Me

The very first Storify post that I published is my story for assignment three. I created two other Storify posts but never published them because I felt that they were too horrible for others to see.

Here is the link to the story I published. I incorporated one tweet from another person which was used to start off the story.

Although I believe most students have not used Storify before, I found that it was hard for me to get an understanding of how to use it. I really wish they had an option to upload directly from the computer as I found I had trouble trying to incorporate that same information from somewhere else.

d. Reflect on your experience on your blog. What seems to ‘make the news’ on Storify? Can you see the usefulness of this as a way to tell stories? If so, how? If not, why not? 

I can see the usefulness of Storify to tell stories; however, if they could incorporate ways to make it easier to use I would it find a lot more useful currently. I personally would not use it because it is so hard for me to understand how to.

Leave a Reply

